Bulang Sabong Cockfighting

Gameness (til the End) From All Over The World

State Cockfighting Laws of United States

This is for reference only and consult an attorney to be sure of your rights and laws in your state.

Updated: March 09, 2009

Cockfighting is illegal in every state and the District of Columbia, but the penalties for the crime vary by state. Below, the 50 states and the District of Columbia are ranked in tiers, according to whether they consider each of four offenses

  • cockfighting itself
  • being a spectator of cockfighting
  • possession of fighting cocks
  • possession of cockfighting weapons

a felony, a misdemeanor or legal. Within each tier, the states are ranked by length of jail sentence and fines imposed.

State

Cockfighting

Possession of Birds for Fighting

Spectator at a Cockfight

Possession of Implements

Rank

4 Felony
Florida Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
1
Michigan Felony
Max 4 years
$5,000- $50,000
500-100 hours community service
Felony
Max 4 years
$5,000-$50,000
500-100 hours community service
Felony
Max 4 years
$1,000- $5,000
250-500 hours community service
Felony
Max 4 years
$1,000- $5,000
250-500 hours community service
2
Colorado Class 5 Felony
1-3 years
Max $1,000
Class 5 Felony
1-3 years
Max $1,000
Class 5 Felony
1-3 years
Max $1,000
Class 5 Felony
1-3 years
Max $1,000
3
Virginia Class 6 Felony
Max 5 years
Max $2,500
Class 6 Felony
Max 5 years
Max $2,500
Class 6 Felony
Max 5 years
Max $2,500
Class 6 Felony
Max 5 years
Max $2,500
4
3 Felony
Iowa Class D Felony
Max 5 years
$750-$7,500
Class D Felony
Max 5 years
$750-$7,500
Aggravated misdemeanor
Max 2 years
$500-$5,000
Class D Felony
Max 5 years
$750-$7,500
5
Maryland Felony
Max 3 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 3 years
Max $5,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,500
Felony
Max 3 years
Max $5,000
6
3 Felony, 1 Legal
New Jersey Crime of the 3rd Degree
3-5 years
$3,000-$5,000
Crime of the 3rd Degree
3-5 years
$3,000-$5,000
Crime of the 3rd Degree
3-5 years
$3,000-$5,000
Legal 7
Pennsylvania 3rd Degree Felony
Max 7 years
Max $15,000
3rd Degree Felony
Max 7 years
Max $15,000
3rd Degree Felony
Max 7 years
Max $15,000
Legal 8
New Hampshire Class B Felony
Max 7 years
Max $4,000
Class B Felony
Max 7 years
Max $4,000
Class B Felony
Max 7 years
Max $4,000
Legal 9
Nebraska Class IV felony
Max 5 years
Max $10,000
Class IV felony
Max 5 years
Max $10,000
Class IV felony
Max 5 years
Max $10,000
Legal 10
Washington Class C Felony
5 years
$10,000
Class C Felony
5 years
$10,000
Class C Felony
5 years
$10,000
Legal 11
Connecticut Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Legal 12
Vermont Felony
Max 5 year
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 year
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 5 year
Max $5,000
Legal 13
Rhode Island Felony
Max 2 years
Max $1,000
Felony
Max 2 years
Max $1,000
Felony
Max 2 years
Max $1,000
Legal 14
2 Felony
Illinois Class 4 Felony
1-3 years
Max $25,000
Class 4 Felony
1-3 years
Max $25,000
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,500
Class C Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $1,500
15
Indiana Class D Felony
6 months to 3 years
Max $10,000
Class D Felony
6 months to 3 years
Max $10,000
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $5,000
Class B Misdemeanor
Max 180 days
Max $1,000
16
Oregon Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $125,000
Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $125,000
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $6,250
Class C Felony 17
2 Felony, 1 Legal
Minnesota Felony
Min 1 year 1 day
Felony
Min 1 year 1 day
Misdemeanor
Max 90 days
Max $1,000
Legal 18
Arizona Felony
9 months to 2 years
Max $150,000
Felony
9 months to 2 years
Max $150,000
Misdemeanor
Max $25,000
Legal 19
Oklahoma Felony
Max 10 years
Max $25,000
Felony
1-10 years
$2,000-$25,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $5,000
Legal 20
Alaska Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $50,000
Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $50,000
Violation
No jail time
Max $500
Legal 21
Washington, D.C. Felony
Max 5 years
Max $25,000
Felony
Max 5 years
Max $25,000
Misdemeanor
Max 180 days
Max $1,000
Legal 22
Arkansas Felony
Max 6 years
Max $10,000
Felony
Max 6 years
Max $10,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $1,000
Legal 23
Maine Class C crime
Court must impose a fine of $500 max, in addition to: Max 5 years; Max $5,000
Class C crime
Court must impose a fine of $500 max, in addition to:
Max 5 years;
Max $5,000
Class D crime
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal 24
North Dakota Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Class C Felony
Max 5 years
Max $5,000
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal 25
Wyoming Felony
Max 2 years
Max $5,000
Felony
Max 2 years
Max $5,000
Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $750
Legal 26
Massachusetts Felony equivalent
Max 5 years (state prison) or Max 1 year (house of correction)
Max $1,000
Felony equivalent
Max 5 years (state prison) or Max 1 year (house of correction)
Max $1,000
Misdemeanor equivalent
Max 1 month
Max $250
Legal 27
New York Felony
Max 4 years
Max $25,000
Felony
Max 4 years
Max $25,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $15,000
Legal 28
Wisconsin Class I Felony
Max 3 years, 6 months
Max $10,000
Class I Felony
Max 3 years, 6 months
Max $10,000
Class A misdemeanor
Max 9 months
Max $10,000
Legal 29
Delaware Class F Felony
Max 3 years
Discretionary fine
Class F Felony
Max 3 years
Discretionary fine
Class A Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,300
Legal 30
2 Felony, 2 Legal
Montana Felony
1-5 years
Max $5,000
Felony
1-5 years
Max $5,000
Legal Legal 31
1 Felony, 1 Legal
Missouri Class D Felony
Max 10 years
Legal Class A Misdemeanor
Min 6 months
Class A Misdemeanor
Min 6 months
32
1 Felony, 3 Legal
Georgia Felony
1-5 years
Max $15,000
Legal Legal Legal 33
Texas Felony
180 days to 2 years
Max $10,000
Legal Legal Legal 34
North Carolina Felony
3-8 months to 4-10 months
Legal Legal Legal 35
Misdemeanor
California Misdemeanor
Max of 1 year
Max of $5,000
Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1,000
Misdemeanor
Max of 1 year
Max of $5000
Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1,000
36
Misdemeanor, 1 Legal
Tennessee Class A Misdemeanor
Max: 11 months and 29 days
Max $2,500
Class A Misdemeanor
Max: 11 months and 29 days
Max $2,500
Class C Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $50
Legal 37
West Virginia Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
$100-$1,000
Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
$300-$2,000
Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
$100-$1,000
Legal 38
New Mexico Petty Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $500
Petty Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $500
Petty Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $500
Legal 39
Ohio 4th Degree Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $250
4th Degree Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $250
4th Degree Misdemeanor
Max 30 days
Max $250
Legal 40
Misdemeanor, 2 Legal
Nevada Gross misdemeanor
1-4 years Max $5,000
Legal Misdemeanor
Max $1,000
Legal 41
South Carolina Misdemeanor: max 1 year, max $1,000; second and subsequent offenses can now bring up to a $3,000 fine and 3 years in prison. Legal Misdemeanor: max 1 year, max $1,000 Legal 42
Utah Class B Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1,000
Legal Class B Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1,000
Legal 43
South Dakota Class 1 Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal Class 1 Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal 44
Kansas Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $1,000
Legal Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $1,000
Legal 45
Louisiana Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1000
Legal Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
Max $1000
Legal 46
Misdemeanor, 3 Legal
Hawaii Misdemeanor
Max 1 year
Max $2,000
Legal Legal Legal 47
Kentucky Class A Misdemeanor
Max 12 months
Max $500
Legal Legal Legal 48
Idaho Misdemeanor
Max 6 months
$100-$5,000
Legal Legal Legal 49
Mississippi Misdemeanor
10 days-100 days
$10-$100
Legal Legal Legal 50
Alabama Misdemeanor
fine not less than $20 or more than $50
Legal Legal Legal 51
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: